margaret tait award


Glasgow Film Festival’s Margaret Tait panel met last week to discuss the nominations for the Margaret Tait Award. Twenty-four prominent Scottish artists were nominated for the award which recognises artists who are experimental, innovative and who work within film and moving image. The award is supported by Creative Scotland and LUX.  

The recipient of the award will be given a £10,000 prize and the opportunity to present their new commission at Glasgow Film Festival in 2016. The panel, which is made up of a diverse range of experts and curators in the field of visual arts and cinema, spent a day discussing and watching each nominee’s work before deciding on a shortlist of four artists. The shortlisted nominees have now been asked to provide a proposal of the commission they would like to make which the panel will then review in early May. 

2016 Margaret Tait Award Shortlist:

Kathryn Elkin 
Rob Kennedy
Duncan Marquiss 
Hardeep Pandhal

The winning artist will be announced week beginning Monday 11 May.

Previous winners:

2014 Margaret Tait Award winner Charlotte Prodger screened her work, entitled Stoneymollan Trail, on Monday 23 February at Glasgow Film Theatre. The film comprised material from multiple formats including an archive of MiniDV tapes that Prodger shot between 1999 and 2004, ripped YouTube video, recent footage shot on her iphone and HD camera, and screenprinted graphic forms.

Previous Margaret Tait award-winners are:
2013: Rachel Maclean, Happy & Glorious

2012: Stephen Sutcliffe, Outwork

2011: Anne-Marie Copestake And Under That

2010: Torsten Lauschmann At The Heart of Everything is a Row of Holes

You can read more about Margaret Tait at LUX online. 

All the Margaret Tait Award winners’ films are now being made available to venues, for more information please visit the Margaret Tait Award on Tour page.


Margaret Tait page logos